Mangalgad was built by Chandrarao More of Jawli. It was one of seven forts captured by Shivaji in 1648. It was the place of confinement of Chitursing the brother of the Raja of Satara, from 1812 till his death in 1818. In 1817 Cornets Hunter and Morrison, two English officers on the Madras establishment, on their way from Hyderabad to Poona with a small escort were caught at Uruli twenty miles east of Poona, and imprisoned here. Some time after, by Gokhla’s orders, they were removed to Vasota in Satara, and, on the destruction of that fort in April 1817, they were restored to freedom. In 1818 Kangori was taken by Colonel Prother, after the fall of Raigad fort.