Tharangambadi Fort also known as Dansborg fort is a Danish Fort. It was built under an Danish general and Thanjavur kings. It was built during 1620 and sold to British during the year 1845. Later Independence, it was used as inspection bungalow used by bureaucrats.
Later by 1978, archaeological department of the Tamil Nadu government has taken over and is a museum now.
It displays artifacts of the fort and the Danish empire. The fort was renovated twice in modern times with support from Danish Royal family with help from Indian and Danish experts. A portrait of Ragunatha Naik, Tranquebar site map, pottery, portrait of Christian IV and several items were restored.